Here Is Everything You Need To Know About The TNPL 2023

Home » Here Is Everything You Need To Know About The TNPL 2023

Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) has taken a great initiative in 2016 for young cricketers in the state. They started their own league called Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) so that the players at the domestic level get the platform to showcase their talent. Now, the 7th edition of the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL 2023) will commence on June 12 with 8 teams participating in the tournament. Today, we will give you all the details related to TNPL 2023. Also, we will also see some of the stats related to this league’s history.

Starting date of TNPL 2023

The first game of TNPL 2023 will be played between Lyca Kovai Kings and IDream Tiruppur on June 12, 2023. SRN College Cricket Ground will host the first game of the tournament.

Venues for the tournament

Tirunelveli, Salem, Dindigul, and Coimbatore will be the four venues for the TNPL 2023. The first qualifier and an eliminator will be played at Salem on  July 7 and 8 respectively. While Tirunelveli will host the 2nd qualifier on July 10.

MA Chidambaram Stadium will not host the final this season as well

It’s the 2nd time that MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai will not host the final of TNPL. TNPL 2023 final will be played at Tirunelveli on July 12.

The reason for that is the floodlights of MA Chidambaram Stadium will be undergoing renovations before the upcoming ICC World Cup 2023. This ground will be one of those venues for the WC 2023.

Implementation of the Impact Player rule and DRS

We saw the Impact player rule in IPL 2023 and also in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy for the first time. After success in those leagues, now TNPL 2023 will also have an Impact Player rule. Teams can replace a player at any stage of the game according to their situation.

Also, DRS will also be in use in the TNPL 2023. The technology will help the teams to get the best decisions. But it will not be available for the on-field calls on wides and no-balls.

Tournament’s Format

The tournament will be played in a Round Robin League and Playoffs stages. Out of 8 teams, the top 4 will qualify for the playoffs.

The Most Expensive Player In TNPL 2023

Sai Sudharsan becomes the most expensive player in TNPL 2023. Lyca Kovai Kings bought him for INR 21.6 lakh.

Sai Sudharsan also does well for Gujarat Titans in IPL 2023. He scored 3 fifties this season including his incredible knock of 96 off 47 balls in the final. 

Now, Sai Sudharsan will also look to continue his form in TNPL 2023.

Broadcasting details of the tournament in India

If you want to catch some live action of TNPL 2023, you can tune into Star Sports in India. For online viewers, the Hotstar app and also at the website will stream the TNPL 2023 matches.

Ticket Prices

The ticket price for all the matches will be Rs. 200 and the new hospitality tickets will cost Rs. 1500.

Women’s TNPL in talk

TNCA also looking to get Women’s TNPL on board. The discussion is going on and it will likely debut in 2024. It will be a great opportunity for young women cricketers in Tamil Nadu to showcase their talent.

Opportunities for the youngsters

Many IPL franchises will also take a close look at this league. They will try to get some good players into their team. So it will be an opportunity for some players to do well and get an IPL contract.

M Shahrukh Khan, a captain of Kovai Kings also said- “The Punjab Kings manager had come up to me and told me that he and a few scouts from the team would be coming to look at the players. The scouting and the eye for talent are a lot around in India, and everybody is ready to look at someone very special and rope them into their side.”

TNPL History

Current Champions

Chepauk Super Gillies and Lyca Kovai Kings were declared as the joint winners in TNPL 2022. That’s because the final of the last season got washed out due to rain.

Most Successful Team

Chepauk Super Gillies is the most successful team in TNPL history. They won the title 4 times (2017, 2019, 2021, and 2022). Other teams who also won the titles are Tuti Patriots, Madurai Super Giants, and Lyca Kovai Kings.

Most runs

N Jagadeesan is the highest run scorer in TNPL’s history. He scored 1240 runs till now in this league. Jagadeesan was also a part of the KKR franchise this season.

Most wickets

With 85 wickets in this league, R Sai Kishore becomes the highest wicket-taker in this league.


So these are all the details regarding TNPL 2023. Are you excited about TNPL 2023? And what do you think? Who will win the title this season? Comment your predictions below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *