IPL 2023 Orange cap holder: Fuf Du Plesis?

Home » IPL 2023 Orange cap holder: Fuf Du Plesis?

Wonder who is the Orange Cap holder in IPL 2023. In today’s topic, we will cover the details about Faf du Plessis who is the current Orange Cap holder in IPL 2023. The Orange Cap in IPL is an award given to the batsman who is the highest run-scorer in the tournament. Throughout the tournament, many talented batsmen from all teams battle it out to win the award.

The Orange Cap is not just a prestigious individual award, but also a measure of consistency and performance for batters in the IPL. It serves as a platform for players to showcase their talent and contribute to their team’s success. In the IPL, the Orange Cap has become a symbol of excellence for batters and has added a new dimension to the league. This has made it even more exciting for fans and players.

Shaun Marsh was the first batsman to win this award in the first edition of IPL 2008. You may be surprised to know that Virat Kohli holds the record for scoring the most runs in an IPL season as he scored 973 runs in IPL 2016. Besides that, David Warner holds the record of winning the orange cap most times as he won this reward 3 times. So, the rules to win this reward are simple like a batsman should be the tournament’s leading run-scorer. However, in case of a tie the batsman with a high strike rate will get the reward.

List of orange cap winners in IPL so far (2008 to Present)

Shaun Marsh was the first player to receive this award in the inaugural edition of the IPL. He scored 616 runs for Punjab Kings in 2008. Sachin Tendulkar was the first Indian player to win the Orange Cap in 2010, scoring 618 runs.

Chris Gayle holds the record for winning the Orange Cap twice consecutively in 2011 and 2012. David Warner has won the award the greatest number of times, winning it thrice. Other notable players who have won the award include Matthew Hayden, Michael Hussey, Robin Uthappa, Virat Kohli, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Kane Williamson, and KL Rahul.

In the 2021 IPL season, Ruturaj Gaikwad won the Orange Cap by scoring 635 runs for Chennai Super Kings. He scored these runs at an average of over 45 and a strike rate of 136.27. In the following season, Jos Buttler won the award for the first time in his career, scoring 863 runs for Rajasthan Royals at an average of 57.53 and a strike rate of 149.05.

Currently, RCB’s Faf du Plessis holds the Orange Cap as the highest run-scorer in the IPL 2023 season. He has scored 466 runs in 9 matches so far in the tournament. Faf du Plessis is the opening batsman of RCB this season. The tournament is going on and the winner of the orange cap is yet to be declared.

Faf du Plessis performance in IPL 2023

Faf du Plessis is in sublime form this IPL season. During his journey this season, he has scored 5 half-centuries for RCB and played some useful match-winning innings against teams like RR, MI, and PBKS. Half of the IPL 2023 season has passed, and he is still dominating the race to win the Orange Cap.

Faf du Plessis is on top with 466 runs in 9 innings and still counting. There is no doubt that if RCB qualifies for the playoffs. Faf could be the winner of the Orange Cap by the end of the tournament. With 5 games remaining, it will be interesting to see how Du Plessis continues his dominance over the Orange Cap.


The race to win the Orange Cap is heating up as players like Virat Kohli, Devon Conway, and Yashasvi Jaiswal are also showing their intention to win it. There is no doubt that each one of them is capable and is doing whatever it takes to stay afloat in this competition. However, half of the IPL 2023 season has passed and it’s hard to predict who will win the orange cap. The competition to win Orange Cap is getting more intense day by day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *