List Of All The Owners Of TNPL Teams

Home » List Of All The Owners Of TNPL Teams

TNPL has been a huge success over the years and it is a great platform for young cricketers in Tamil Nadu. So many good cricketers played in this league and went on to play in the IPL as well. Players like Sai Sudharsan, M Ashwin, etc are those players who played in IPL. Back in 2016, 8 big business houses acquired the rights of their respective teams and today, we will talk about them in detail. We will see all the owners of TNPL teams.

The owners of TNPL teams played a huge role in this league’s success. They make sure that the tournament’s functioning will be smooth without any hindrance. Let’s discuss all the owners of TNPL teams in detail.

List of all owners of TNPL teams:

(1) Salem Spartans (SS)

They used to be known as Tuti Patriots back in 2016. Tuti Patriots won the inaugural season of TNPL by beating Chepauk Super Gillies in the final by 122 runs.

In 2019, the ownership changed and M. Selvakumar of Vivo Chennai South Distributor paid Thoothukodi Sports and Entertainment LTD INR 5.21 crore for the franchise rights. The team’s name also changed from Tuti Patriots to Salem Spartans. They represent the Salem district of Tamil Nadu in TNPL.

Ever since Salem Spartans came into existence, the performance of this franchise is not up to the mark. In 2021, they finished at No. 7 in the points table. And in 2022, the situation gets worst as M Ashwin led side finished last in the points table.

M Selvakumar, one of the owners of TNPL teams will hope his team will come out good this year.

(2) Lyca Kovai Kings (LKK)

Lyca Productions, which is a production house in Tamil Nadu, owned this team back in 2016 in INR 5.01 crore. Last year, they becomes a joint winner with Chepauk Super Gillies as the final got washed out due to rain. It was their first-ever TNPL title. Suresh Kumar played a huge role in the team’s success as he scored 398 runs in 10 games at an astonishing strike rate of 157. Abhishek Tanwar also becomes the highest wicket-taker in the tournament with 17 wickets. Shahrukh Khan led the side, which is also a part of Punjab Kings (PBKS) in the IPL.

The chairman of Lyca Production, Subaskaran Allirajah is also one of the owners of TNPL teams. He also has a team in Sri Lanka Premier League called Jaffa Kings.

(3) Ba11sy Trichy (BT)

Drumstick Productions, who are currently the owner of the Tiruchirapalli-based team spent INR 3.69 crore to acquire the rights. BT started their TNPL journey as Ruby Kanchi Warriors. Ruby Builders, a well-known real estate developer in Chennai’s southern region, was the franchise’s owner. However, the franchise underwent an ownership shift in the first-ever TNPL auction.

(4) Siechem Madurai Panthers (SMP)

Kothari (Madras) LTD acquired the Siechem Madurai Panthers in 2016 for INR 4.001 crores. They became the champions of the third edition of the league, beating Dindigul Dragons at Chepauk Stadium.

From Kothari (Madras) LTD, Siechem Industries acquired ownership of the Madurai-based franchise. 

(5) Chepauk Super Gillies (CSG)

They are the most successful team in TNPL’s history. B. Sivanthi Adityan, who owns Metronation Chennai Television Private Limited is also one of the owners of TNPL teams. They acquired the rights of the franchise for INR 5.21 crore back in 2016. Since then, they have won 4 titles in 2017, 2019, 2021, and 2022 (joint winner with Lyca Kovai Kings).

(6) Dindigul Dragons (DD)

For INR 3.42 crores, Take Solutions, a renowned business technology company purchased the franchise’s rights. They are also one of the owners of TNPL teams The group is from Dindigul, which is in Tamil Nadu’s southern region.

They haven’t won any titles yet. But the team came close in 2018 when they reached the final but fell short against Madurai Super Giants, who won the final by 7 wickets. It was their first TNPL title.

(7) IDream Tiruppur Tamizhans (ITT)

IDream Cinemas, who own a movie theatre in Royapuram, Chennai is one of the owners of TNPL teams. They acquired the rights for INR 3.3 crore.

(8) Nellai Royal Kings (NRK)

To symbolize Tirunelveli, Crown Forts Limited renamed their VB Kanchi Veerans of Kancheepuram as Nellai Royal Kings in 2021. They haven’t given their fans anything particularly noteworthy in their time as the Nellai-based outlet, but they are expected to perform at the top of their game in the forthcoming season.


So these are all the owners of TNPL teams. TNPL has been a good platform for the players and viewers enjoyed watching this league as the quality of cricket is so good.

Which is your favorite team of these 8 teams? The 7th edition of TNPL will commence on 12 June. Which team will come out good this year?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *