The Caribbean Premier League will begin on August 16, 2023

Home » The Caribbean Premier League will begin on August 16, 2023

After the conclusion of the India tour of the West Indies, the 11th edition of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2023 is set to begin. The touring team, led by Rohit Sharma, will play 10 matches before the commencement of the CPL. Scheduled to begin on the 16th of August, the event is eagerly awaited, with the grand finale set to take place on the 24th of September, a month later.

As the tournament approaches, the defending champions of the Caribbean Premier League, the Jamaica Tallawahs, will play their first match against the Saint Lucia Kings at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground in Saint Lucia. However, in other news, it has been announced that Republic Bank has been appointed as the Title Sponsor for the upcoming season, in preparation for CPL 2023.

The CPL organizers have been careful not to schedule the tournament at the same time as the Major League Cricket (MLC), which is launching in the United States. However, the MLC T20 tournament is set to take place from July 13th to July 30th, 2023, at the Grand Prairie Stadium. Moreover, in the CPL, every team will play against each other twice in the league stage of the tournament. Then, the top four teams on the points table will go through to the playoffs.

Caribbean Premier League 2023 Schedule

The upcoming tournament will follow the same caravan format as before. However, the first stage will be in Saint Lucia, with six games played at the famous Daren Sammy Cricket Ground from August 16th to August 20th. Moreover, the St Lucia Kings, which is part of the IPL’s Punjab Kings, will play in four of these matches.

After the first set of matches, the tournament will move to St. Kitts and Nevis. Because they will play from August 23rd to August 27th at Warner Park. Then, the tournament will move to Barbados. It’s been three years since the CPL was last held in Barbados, which was in 2019, but it’s finally making a comeback after a break due to COVID-19.

The tournament will have six games in Trinidad and Tobago, and the Trinbago Knight Riders will play in four of them. However, the playoffs and the final will take place in Guyana, just like last season. Moreover, the Jamaica Tallawahs were the champions last year, and they won against St Kitts and Nevis in the final.

Caribbean Premier League 2023 Teams

There are six teams in the tournament, each with 15 players. However, they can have up to five international players and four under-23 players. Every team has one local and one international franchise player. So, the teams are Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors, Jamaica Tallawahs, St Kitts & Nevis Patriots, Saint Lucia Kings, and Trinbago Knight Riders.

  Team Name  Team’s Captain
  Barbados Royals  Kyle Mayers
  Guyana Amazon Warriors  Shimron Hetmyer
  Jamaica Tallawahs  Rovman Powell
  St Kitts & Nevis Patriots  Dwayne Bravo
  Saint Lucia Kings  Faf du Plessis
  Trinbago Knight Riders  Kieron Pollard
Teams and their respected captain

How to watch Caribbean Premier League 2023 live in India?

FanCode is the only place where you can watch all the cricket matches from the Caribbean Premier League 2023 in India. However, this means that you can enjoy lots of cool features like interactive data overlays, real-time highlights, live scores with awesome commentary, and even special commentary just for people who love fantasy sports. So, if you want to watch the games, you’ll need to sign up for FanCode’s match pass or tour pass.


Get ready for an exciting event! Because the Caribbean Premier League is back for its 11th edition with six teams and 15 players each. Each team can have up to five players from other countries and four players under 23 years old. The teams will play in four different countries: Saint Lucia, St. Kitts, Nevis, Barbados, and Guyana. So, these teams will play against each other twice in the league stage, and the top four teams will move on to the playoffs. The tournament will start on August 16, 2023, and the final match will be on September 24, 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *