The Top 5 Standing Run-Scorers of TNPL 2023

Home » The Top 5 Standing Run-Scorers of TNPL 2023

The ongoing Tamil Nadu Premier League is on the verge of finding its season seven champions. With the playoffs starting today, we are going to have an exciting amount of cricket. Lyca Kovai Kings, Dindigul Dragons, Nellai Rayal Kings, and Siechem Madurai Panthers are the four teams who will be contesting in the playoffs.

There were four teams contesting for that last playoff spot, but Siechem Madurai Panthers occupied the last spot by defeating IDream Tiruppur Tamizhans in their last league match.

Top Standing Run-Scorers of TNPL 2023

We have seen some amazing performances with the bat this season, and runs are flowing in the form of boundaries. Let us look at the top-standing run-scorers of the season. 

1.    Sai Sudharsan

The left-handed youngster is on the top of the chart with the maximum runs in the tournament to date. He has played an important role in keeping the Lyca Kovai Kings in the top spot with six wins out of seven games. Sai notched up 371 runs in just six games with a blistering average of 74.

From scoring 96 in the IPL final while playing for Gujarat Titans, Sai carried his form in TNPL as well. He smashed three consecutive half-centuries in the first three games of TNPL. With four fifties, including the highest score of 90 against Nellai Royal Kings, Sai has been consistent throughout the tournament. His consistency at this level has earned him a spot for Duleep Trophy and in the India A squad for the upcoming Emerging Teams Asia Cup 2023.

2.    Baba Aparajith

Chepauk Super Gillies’ captain Baba Aparajith, is the second-highest standing run scorer of the tournament. Despite being an all-rounder, Aparajith has shown consistency throughout the league stage. With 283 runs and a splendid average of 47, the right-hander was the highest run-scorer of his team. He smashed two back-to-back 70+ scores against Dindigul Dragons and Nellai Royal Kings.

With Chepauk Super Gillies eliminated from the tournament, Baba Aparajith no longer has the chance to make it to the top. He notched up two half-centuries this season but could not get support from the other batters to help his team qualify for the playoffs.

3.    Shivam Singh

The right-handed opener of Dindigul Dragons, Shivam Singh is third on the top scorers list. With 270 runs in just seven games, Shivam has done a great job for his team in reaching the next stage of the tournament. His three fifties were major contributions to his team’s success throughout the tournament.

With an average of 45 and a strike rate of over 130, he is indeed a dangerous batter for other teams. Now that DD has qualified for the playoffs, Shivam will look to continue the same and surpass Sai Sudharsan as the top standing run scorer of the Tamil Nadu Premier League 2023.

4.    Ajitesh Guruswami

We have a fourth standing run scorer from one of the four qualifying teams i.e. Nellai Royal Kings. How can one forget the player who has smashed the highest score of the tournament and that too against the top team Lyca Kovai Kings? Ajitesh Guruswami, wicket-keeper batter of NRK, smashed 112 runs and led his team to victory against LKK.

With 261 runs in just seven innings, Ajitesh has done his bit in helping his team reach the playoffs. With a few games left, Ajitesh will look to smash the ball out of the park and do everything in helping his team lift the TNPL 2023 trophy.

5.    J Suresh Kumar

Suresh Kumar from Lyca Kovai Kings is our last standing run scorer of the TNPL 2023. The wicket-keeper batter has been in decent form and has helped his team in reaching the next stage of the league. With 197 runs in the tournament so far, Suresh has played an important role in building partnerships with Sai and put in some runs for his team.

With a blistering strike rate of over 153, his small contributions have immense value for the team. His blistering innings of 64 runs off just 29 deliveries against Siechem Madurai Panthers will still be haunting the other teams.

With the business leg of the league starting today, we might see some changes in the standing run-scorers. So far, these are the top five standing runs scorers. With Sai Sudharsan gone for Duleep Trophy, the other players have a pretty good chance to wear that orange cap and be on the top of the list. Lyca Kovai Kings and Dindigul Dragons will face each other in the qualifier one. On the other hand, Siechem Madurai Panther and Nellai Royal Kings will be contesting in the eliminator tomorrow. We are just a few days away from having the champions of the Tamil Nadu Premier League 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *