TNPL Champions list: Tamil Nadu Premier League

Home » TNPL Champions list: Tamil Nadu Premier League

Tamil Nadu’s own state’s league, Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) is a massive hit ever since it has started in 2016 by Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA). It is a league that is held annually in which 8 teams participate. The TNPL is a great platform for the cricketers in Tamil Nadu to showcase their talent. Till now, 6 seasons of TNPL have been completed. And we saw a few teams winning the title over the years. Today, we will see the TNPL champions of all the seasons till now. Let’s see the list.

List of TNPL champions in all the seasons (2016-2022)

(1) TNPL 2016 (Tuti Patriots)

The year 2016 saw the start of the TNPL’s inaugural season. Tuti Patriots becomes the first TNPL champions that year.

Tuti Patriots finished at No. 3 in the points table with 4 wins in 7 games. They won the first semi-final by 38 runs against Dindigul Dragons. Then, they meet Chepauk Super Gillies in the final and won it by a big margin of 122 runs. With the help of K Gandhi, A Mukund, and D Karthik, they managed to score 215 on the board.

Tuti bowlers were relentless with the bowl with M Ganesh Moorthi being the pick of the bowlers in the 2nd inning. CSG got all out for just 93 runs in 18.5 overs.

M Ganesh Moorthi becomes the man of the match in the final. N Jagadeesan becomes the player of the tournament. And Tuti Patriots become the first TNPL champions.

(2) TNPL 2017 (Chepauk Super Gillies)

CSG went over the line this time as they lost the final last time around. And that too against the Tuti Patriots. They beat Tuti Patriots by 6 wickets in the final while chasing  144.

Sai Kishore and A Kumar led the bowling in the first inning. They restrict Tuti Patriots to just 143. Only A Mukund showed some fight in the first inning.

Gopinath’s fifty helps CSG to get over the line in a run chase. They chased down a target with 6 wickets and one over left.

CSG also becomes the TNPL champions for the first time in 2017.

(3) TNPL 2018, Madurai Super Giants

It was the first title for Madurai Super Giants in TNPL 2018. They also becomes one of the TNPL champions that year.

After finishing at No. 2 in the points table with 5 wins in 7 games, they lost the first qualifier against Dindigul Dragons. But as a result of finishing in the top 2, they got a 2nd chance to go into the finals.

They won the 2nd qualifier against Lyca Kovai Kings by 7 wickets. And then also took their revenge against Dindigul Dragons in the final of TNPL 2018.

MSG becomes the TNPL champions for the first time by beating DD in the final by 7 wickets while chasing 118. They chased down a target with 17 balls to spare. Arun Karthik led the run chase and scored 75 off 50 balls with 4 fours and 4 sixes.

(4) TNPL 2019, Chepauk Super Gillies

CSG becomes the TNPL champions for the 2nd time in TNPL 2019. Dindigul Dragons again fell short in the final and their dream of winning the TNPL title remains.

CSG defended a small total of 127 in the final. Only Sumant Jain show some fight for DD and scored 46. G Periyaswamy took 5 wickets in the 2nd inning.

(5) TNPL 2021, Chepauk Super Gillies

CSG again won a close encounter in the final against Ruby Trichy Warriors. With N Jagadeesan’s 90, CSG managed to score 183 in the first inning.

At one stage, the target was looking so far ahead for RTW but Saravana Kumar played an outstanding knock of 45 off 25 balls. But that wasn’t enough to get the team over the line. CSG won the final by 8 runs. They become the TNPL champions for the third time.

(6) TNPL 2022, (Chepauk Super Gillies and Lyca Kovai Kings declared joint winners)

For the first time, a TNPL final was held outside M. Chidambaram Stadium. But due to rain, the match wasn’t completed.

At SNR College Cricket Ground, Coimbatore, CSG, and LKK were declared as joint winners after rain washed out the final.

Sanjay Yadav becomes the player of the tournament for his 452 runs and 6 wickets in the tournament. It was the 4th title for CSG and the first for LKK in TNPL history.


So these are all the TNPL champions over the years. TNPL 2023 is also going well and people are enjoying every moment. Who would you think will be the winner this time? Fill the comment section with your predictions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *